Weekend Discoveries

Saturday I went to a farmers’ market near my house with the family, and picked up some great locally grown produce.  Lots of fruits and veggies, and also some fresh sauerkraut! 🙂  Yum.   The rest of the evening I spent recuperating. While I do have a few Polish friends, it’s been somewhat challenging to expand my network of friends here.  This is because A) Many people don’t speak English fluently enough to have a full-on conversation with me  and B) I’m only in Krakow on the weekends and I feel awkward just going out by myself.  Perhaps I’m expecting too much, too soon.  In time I know I will meet more people as well as feel more comfortable navigating the city. 🙂

I love fresh fruits and veggies!

Andrzej and Kacper at the market.

This Sunday morning, I went for a walk around the neighborhood and picked up some groceries.  Yogurt, oatmeal, and a few other things.  I spotted this sign and thought it was kind of funny 🙂

Zakaz srania dla psow. (The meaning of which only my Polish friends will understand ;))

Later in the day, I went to the Galleria Mall to pick up some perfume because I left mine back in the States.  I met up with my friend Michał (Me-how) and we walked around the city centre, ate some dinner, and admired the historic buildings of Krakow.  It’s funny, because in Poland it’s uncommon to see Asians or African Americans so every time I spotted Asian tourists, I was sure to point them out…haha.  What can I say, I feel comfortable when I see my people! 😛  Now we have this awesome couch-surfing woman named Rita staying with us for a few days, and she is incredibly fascinating.  We all drank some homemade dandelion wine made by Barbara’s husband, Andrzej, and listened to Rita as she explained her lifestyle.  She has written over fifty books, lives as a “nomad” with no permanent home, has lived in numerous countries, and the most impressive part–she’s in her mid-seventies!  This is exactly why I love to travel and live abroad.   The opportunities to make connections and learn from incredible people like Rita are abound!

Some traditional barszcz for dinner 🙂 Delicious and pretty healthy!

View of the market square before dusk.

The market square is stunning at night.

One of the many beautiful, old buildings located in the center. Can’t remember the name 🙂

Leave a comment