Cheers to the weekend!

My second week of teaching went very well overall, so having Friday off from work was just the cherry on top.  I slept in Friday morning until about 10am, and then headed for the mall with my friend Michał, who accompanied me to get passport style pictures taken for my residence permit (thanks!).  I really dislike taking passport pictures because since I’m not allow to smile, I end up looking super creepy, like an Asian version of the girl from The Ring.

After walking around the mall a bit, I went to his house on the other side of the city.  On the way, we bought some beer & liquor for the evening.

Żubrówka, smooth and delicious 😉

We watched a couple of movies, and then after drinking a bit at the house, Michał, his sister Magda, and I headed out to a club called Cien.  We arrived a little before 10:30pm, which was actually early.  We waited about 15 minutes before we were let in.  Then, it took an hour or more for the party to actually get started.  The venue itself is pretty small, so as more people arrived after 12am, the dance floor was pretty packed.  The club played good music overall (mostly hip-hop/pop/mainstream stuff), which we were happy about. After a few hours of dancing, acquiring some blisters, and  fending off strange men who wanted to dance with me and Magda, we were ready to head home at  around 4am.

Da club

This morning, I woke up around 12pm (surprisingly not that hungover) and headed back to my place.  On my walk home, I got pretty drenched from the rain…definitely was not dressed appropriately considering I was wearing my clothes from the club.  My hosts Basia and Andrzej had also gone out the night before with this guy who is couch surfing with us at the moment, so they were also a bit partied out.

Sunday update:

First snowfall!  Looks like we’re in Siberia  😉

Leave a comment