Luck of the Irish? Not.

Edit:  I’m no longer a prisoner in this residence 🙂

 

My Dad and I always joke that we have horrible luck, despite our very Irish surname.  So far, it seems to hold true more than ever in Poland.  Last night I arrived home at 8:30pm from work, and found that the front door was wide open and the lights were on.  My immediate thought was “Oh God, someone broke in.  I forgot to lock the door.”  But no, apparently my host family didn’t inform me before they left for their 3 week trip to the U.S. that the brother-in-law of the husband was going to stay here for two nights.   Ok, so that was a bit of a surprise, but I guess it’s not so out of the ordinary.

This morning I heard him leave the house.  An hour later I need to leave for work, at around 12pm.  I try to unlock the door.  It doesn’t budge.  Basically there is a super intense security lock that can actually lock someone IN the house.  In the case of a burglary, if a burglar comes through the window, he can’t escape through the entrance, he has to go back out the window…so it makes it more difficult for him.   Anyway, we NEVER use this lock because it’s too easy to get locked in.  I have the key as well, but I can’t open it from the inside of the house!   I had to call the teachers at the school and cancel my four classes for today.  Very irritating.   There was no way I could open this door unless the guy came back from work to unlock it.  Also, I don’t have his number.  Currently I’m still waiting for him to come home.  Thank God is is staying one more night, so he will be returning to free me.  I feel like I’m being held prisoner! haha

Updates to come…I hope freedom is near!

Leave a comment